Today is the annual day that people in relationships feel forced to do something to make a love statement, many single people want to hide, and others just don’t think about it much.  As someone who’s been single for about five years (and that’s a whole story that I won’t be telling on this blog.  Get me to go out for a drink if you want that conversation!), I thought to myself what would be the best and most appropriate action for me to do today.  I saw 5 individual clients today and led a workshop (nothing says romance like talking about interviewing and networking) and was feeling rather fried at the end of the day, so I decided that I needed to show some love for someone that I know needs it, namely me.  I ended up going to the gym and having a pretty good workout.  I’m leaving for Florida in 3 weeks for a vacation, and I need to lose about 5-10 lbs. if I’m going to fit into my summer clothes (which will be what I need to wear down there!)

On this Valentines Day, I ask that you look to yourself (even if you are in a relationship) and see what you could do that would be really loving.  One of the kindest things that you can do for yourself is to ask “What do I want? What would make me happy?” and then work towards that.  If we can envision a goal and work toward it, we gain in our own self confidence and see that we can have the personal power to do anything.  I wish that for all of you.

So, what gift are you giving yourself today?

 

